Recht in Afrika (Jan 2016)

La Communauté Economique et Monétaire de l’Afrique Centrale : organisation intergouvernementale ou organisation supranationale?

  • Laurent Tengo

Journal volume & issue
Vol. 18, no. 1
pp. 40 – 57


Read online

The Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa, in acronym EMCA, was born in replacement of the Custom and Economic Union of Central Africa (CEUAC), from a treaty signed on 16 March 1994 in Ndjamena, Chad, by the heads of states and governments of six states, which are also members of the Economic Community of States of Central Africa (ECSAC). The activities of EMCA were launched officially on 25 June 1999, executives were appointed and the action plan, the Declaration of Malabo, was adopted. This treaty has been revised in Yaoundé, Cameroon, on 25 June 2008. This article analyses the legal nature and the legal status of the EMCA.