学术出版透明与最佳行为准则

(Translated versions are available in Arabic, Catalan, Chinese, Dutch, English, Farsi, Finnish, French, Hindi, Indonesian, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish, Ukrainian )

介绍

出版道德委员会(COPE)、DOAJ、开放获取学术出版商协会(OASPA)和世界医学编辑协会(WAME)收到越来越多的质量参差不齐的会员申请。这些机构共同合作,根据COPE、DOAJ、OASPA和WAME遴选会员的标准,提出了学术出版透明与最佳行为准则。各机构仍有评估申请的其他条件。所有机构均不共享未达到透明与最佳行为准则的出版商或期刊的信息。

本文发表于2018年1月,将来会持续更新;第一版由OASPA发表于2013年12月,第二版发表于2015年6月。我们希望该准则能被广泛采用,也欢迎您的意见和建议。文末是对准则发起机构的介绍。

透明准则

  1. 期刊网站
    期刊网站应声明,期刊重视并确保高水平的道德与专业标准。期刊网站不能包含误导读者的信息,例如,模仿其他期刊/出版商的网站。 期刊网站须包含发表论文的主题与范围,明确读者群。须声明发表何种论文,包括对作者的要求(例如,禁止一稿多投,重复发表)。须在醒目位置显示ISSN(纸质版和在线版分别显示)。
  2. 期刊名称
    期刊名称须唯一,不能与其他期刊易混淆,不能让作者和读者误认为其他期刊,或以为与其他期刊有联系。
  3. 审稿流程
    期刊论文须明示是否经过了同行评审。同行评议(peer review)是指由期刊编委会之外的该领域的专家评阅论文。期刊网站须详述评审流程,包括审稿类型。期刊网站不能声明接收论文或过短审稿时间的保证。
  4. 期刊的运营机构
    期刊网站应明确声明期刊的运营机构,不能使用误导作者和编辑的机构或期刊名称。
  5. 期刊管理
    期刊须有编委会或由本领域专家组成的管理团队,须列出编委会成员或其他管理团队成员的姓名及所在机构的名称。
  6. 期刊编辑/联系方式n
    期刊网站须显示编辑的姓名及所在机构的名称、编辑部的联系方式及详细地址。
  7. 版权与许可
    期刊网站须在投稿指南页面明确声明版权和许可政策,论文(HTML和PDF)中须包含版权所有者和许可政策的信息。如作者可采用知识共享许可(Creative Commons license),应声明采用的CC许可的类型。如有关于第三方存储接收版或发表版本论文的政策,须在期刊网站明确声明。
  8. 向作者收取的费用
    如期刊向作者收取文章处理和/或发表费,应在期刊网站的醒目位置予以声明,并在作者投稿时告知作者。如不收取任何费用,仍须在期刊网站明确声明。
  9. 学术不端举报的处理流程
    出版商和编辑须采取合理的步骤,识别并防止学术不端论文的发表,包括抄袭、不当引用和数据造假。在任何情况下,期刊和编辑都不能鼓励这种行为,或默许学术不端的发生。如出版商或编辑收到已发表论文的学术不端的举报,应遵循COPE指南(或类似的指南),来处理该举报。
  10. 学术道德
    期刊须有关于出版道德的政策,并在期刊网站明确声明,包括:1)关于论文署名的政策;2)如何处理读者反馈;3)利益冲突;4)数据复制与分享;5)学术道德监督;6)知识产权;7)论文发表后的讨论与更正。
  11. 出版周期
    期刊网站须明确声明期刊的出版周期。
  12. 如何获取期刊论文
    期刊网站须明确声明读者如何获取论文全文,以及是否收取订阅费或单篇文章阅读费。
  13. 期刊存储
    期刊网站须明确声明,为防止期刊停刊造成论文丢失,电子版期刊内容是否备份存储(例如,存储在CLOCKSS或PubMedCentral)。
  14. 期刊盈利渠道
    期刊网站须明确声明其经营模式或盈利渠道(例如,向作者收费、订阅费、广告、预印本或机构赞助)。发表费收取与否不能影响编辑对论文的最终决定。
  15. 广告
    期刊网站须明确声明其广告政策,包括显示何种类型的广告,接受广告的决策人,广告是否与期刊内容或读者行为(仅在线)相关,广告的显示是否随机。 广告不能影响编辑对论文的决定,须与期刊内容独立显示。
  16. 期刊宣传
    任何直接的宣传活动,包括邀稿,须适度、有针对性、委婉。期刊信息须真实,不能误导读者或作者。
  17. 如发现会员机构违反上述最佳行为准则,或OASPA/DOAJ/COPE/WAME各自的标准,OASPA/DOAJ/COPE/WAME将与该会员机构合作,以解决出现的问题。如会员机构不能或不愿解决问题,其会员资格将被停止或取消。所有会员机构均有处理其期刊问题的程序。

    本版于2018年1月15日发表在DOAJ网站
    第二版于2015年6月发表在DOAJ网站
    第一版于2014年1月10日发表在DOAJ网站

     

    关于 Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE, https://publicationethics.org)

    COPE为期刊编辑和出版商提供全方位的出版道德指导,尤其是如何处理学术不端行为。而且,它为会员机构提供讨论案例的论坛。COPE并不直接参与案例的处理,但鼓励期刊编辑确保合适的官方机构(通常为科研机构或学术不管行为者被雇佣的机构)对学术不端行为展开调查。所有COPE的会员机构须满足COPE的出版道德准则,这在其核心标准中有详细描述。 core practices.

    关于 Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ, https://doaj.org)

    DOAJ的使命是:构建可信的开放获取学术期刊信息的平台;确保收录的期刊符合收录标准;提高开放获取期刊的吸引力和可见度,促进其传布;使科研人员、图书馆、高校、基金会及其他相关组织受益于DOAJ提供的信息和服务;加快开放获取期刊进入图书馆和第三方数据聚合机构;帮助有需求的出版商及其期刊符合合理的数字出版标准;推动学术交流与出版体系向服务于科学、高等教育、工业、创新、社会与人类的模型的转变。DOAJ将与所有相关组织共同合作,实现上述目标。

    关于 Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA, https://oaspa.org)

    OASPA成立于2008年,是一家代表全球各类学科开放获取出版商利益的贸易协会。通过鼓励出版商合作发展合适的商业模式、工具和标准,支持开放获取出版,OASPA致力于确保其会员机构与科研社区的可持续发展。其使命通过交换信息、设定标准、推进模式、支持、教育及促进创新来完成。

    关于 WAME是一家由全球同行评议医学类期刊编辑志愿者组成的非盈利协会,这些编辑致力于促进编辑间的合作与交流;完善编辑标准;通过教育、自我批评与自我管理,促进医学编辑的专业化;鼓励有关医学编辑准则与实践的研究。WAME对医学类期刊编辑提出了最佳实践的建议,并为其提供学习资源。

Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing

Introduction

The Committee on Publication Ethics, the Directory of Open Access Journals, the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association and the World Association of Medical Editors are scholarly organizations that have seen an increase in the number, and broad range in the quality of, membership applications. Our organizations have collaborated to identify principles of transparency and best practice for scholarly publications and to clarify that these principles form the basis of the criteria by which suitability for membership is assessed by COPE, DOAJ and OASPA, and part of the criteria on which membership applications are evaluated by WAME. Each organization also has their own, additional criteria which are used when evaluating applications. The organizations will not share lists of publishers or journals that failed to demonstrate that they met the criteria for transparency and best practice.

This is the third version of a work in progress (published January 2018); the first version was made available by OASPA in December 2013 and a second version in June 2015. We encourage its wide dissemination and continue to welcome feedback on the general principles and the specific criteria. Background on the organizations is below.

An infographic of these Principles was commissioned by COPE and is available to download here: [Landscape A4 version] [Tall 'poster' version]

A Spanish version and a Portuguese version of the Principles are available.

 

Principles of Transparency

  1. Website
    A journal's website, including the text that it contains, shall demonstrate that care has been taken to ensure high ethical and professional standards. It must not contain information that might mislead readers or authors, including any attempt to mimic another journal/publisher’s site.
    An 'Aims & Scope' statement should be included on the website and the readership clearly defined. There should be a statement on what a journal will consider for publication including authorship criteria (e.g. not considering multiple submissions, redundant publications) to be included. ISSNs should be clearly displayed (separate for print and electronic).
  2. Name of journal
    The Journal name shall be unique and not be one that is easily confused with another journal or that might mislead potential authors and readers about the Journal's origin or association with other journals.
  3. Peer review process
    Journal content must be clearly marked as whether peer reviewed or not. Peer review is defined as obtaining advice on individual manuscripts from reviewers expert in the field who are not part of the journal's editorial staff. This process, as well as any policies related to the journal's peer review procedures, shall be clearly described on the journal's Web site, including the method of peer review used. Journal websites should not guarantee manuscript acceptance or very short peer review times.
  4. Ownership and management
    Information about the ownership and/or management of a journal shall be clearly indicated on the journal's website. Publishers shall not use organizational or journal names that would mislead potential authors and editors about the nature of the journal's owner.
  5. Governing body
    Journals shall have editorial boards or other governing bodies whose members are recognized experts in the subject areas included within the journal's scope. The full names and affiliations of the journal's editorial board or other governing body shall be provided on the journal's website.
  6. Editorial team/contact information
    Journals shall provide the full names and affiliations of the journal's editors on the journal's website as well as contact information for the editorial office, including a full address.
  7. Copyright and Licensing
    The policy for copyright shall be clearly stated in the author guidelines and the copyright holder named on all published articles. Likewise, licensing information shall be clearly described in guidelines on the website, and licensing terms shall be indicated on all published articles, both HTML and PDFs. If authors are allowed to publish under a Creative Commons license then any specific license requirements shall be noted. Any policies on posting of final accepted versions or published articles on third party repositories shall be clearly stated.
  8. Author fees
    Any fees or charges that are required for manuscript processing and/or publishing materials in the journal shall be clearly stated in a place that is easy for potential authors to find prior to submitting their manuscripts for review, or explained to authors before they begin preparing their manuscript for submission. If no such fees are charged that should also be clearly stated.
  9. Process for identification of and dealing with allegations of research misconduct
    Publishers and editors shall take reasonable steps to identify and prevent the publication of papers where research misconduct has occurred, including plagiarism, citation manipulation, and data falsification/fabrication, among others. In no case shall a journal or its editors encourage such misconduct, or knowingly allow such misconduct to take place. In the event that a journal's publisher or editors are made aware of any allegation of research misconduct relating to a published article in their journal, the publisher or editor shall follow COPE's guidelines (or equivalent) in dealing with allegations.
  10. Publication Ethics
    A journal shall also have policies on publishing ethics. These should be clearly visible on its website, and should refer to: i) Journal policies on authorship and contributorship; ii) How the journal will handle complaints and appeals; iii) Journal policies on conflicts of interest / competing interests; iv) Journal policies on data sharing and reproducibility; v) Journal's policy on ethical oversight; vi) Journal's policy on intellectual property; and vii) Journal's options for post-publication discussions and corrections.
  11. Publishing schedule
    The periodicity at which a journal publishes shall be clearly indicated.
  12. Access
    The way(s) in which the journal and individual articles are available to readers and whether there are associated subscription or pay per view fees shall be stated.
  13. Archiving
    A journal's plan for electronic backup and preservation of access to the journal content (for example, access to main articles via CLOCKSS or PubMedCentral) in the event a journal is no longer published shall be clearly indicated.
  14. Revenue sources
    Business models or revenue sources (eg, author fees, subscriptions, advertising, reprints, institutional support, and organizational support) shall be clearly stated or otherwise evident on the journal's website. Publishing fees or waiver status should not influence editorial decision making.
  15. Advertising
    Journals shall state their advertising policy if relevant, including what types of adverts will be considered, who makes decisions regarding accepting adverts and whether they are linked to content or reader behavior (online only) or are displayed at random. Advertisements should not be related in any way to editorial decision making and shall be kept separate from the published content.
  16. Direct marketing
    Any direct marketing activities, including solicitation of manuscripts that are conducted on behalf of the journal, shall be appropriate, well targeted, and unobtrusive. Information provided about the publisher or journal is expected to be truthful and not misleading for readers or authors.
  17. In the event that a member organization is found to have violated these best practices, or other specific requirements of the organisation, OASPA/DOAJ/COPE/WAME shall in the first instance try to work with them in order to address any concerns that have been raised. In the event that the member organization is unable or unwilling to address these concerns, their membership in the organization may be suspended or terminated.

    OASPA/DOAJ/COPE/WAME have procedures for dealing with concerns raised about members.

    This version published on DOAJ: 15 January 2018
    Second version published on DOAJ: June 2015
    First version published on DOAJ: 10 January 2014

     

    About the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE, https://publicationethics.org)

    COPE provides advice to editors and publishers on all aspects of publication ethics and, in particular, how to handle cases of research and publication misconduct. It also provides a forum for its members to discuss individual cases. COPE does not investigate individual cases but encourages editors to ensure that cases are investigated by the appropriate authorities (usually a research institution or employer). All COPE members are expected to apply COPE principles of publication ethics outlined in the core practices.

    About the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ, https://doaj.org)

    The mission of the DOAJ is: to curate, maintain and develop a source of reliable information about open access scholarly journals on the web; to verify that entries on the list comply with reasonable standards; to increase the visibility, dissemination, discoverability and attraction of open access journals; to enable scholars, libraries, universities, research funders and other stakeholders to benefit from the information and services provided; to facilitate the integration of open access journals into library and aggregator services; to assist, where possible, publishers and their journals to meet reasonable digital publishing standards; and to thereby support the transition of the system of scholarly communication and publishing into a model that serves science, higher education, industry, innovation, societies and the people. Through this work, DOAJ will cooperate and collaborate with all interested parties working toward these objectives.

    About the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA, https://oaspa.org)

    OASPA is a trade association that was established in 2008 in order to represent the interests of Open Access (OA) publishers globally across all disciplines. By encouraging collaboration in developing appropriate business models, tools and standards to support OA publishing, OASPA aims to help ensure a prosperous and sustainable future for the benefit of its members and the scholarly communities they serve. This mission is carried out through exchanging information, setting standards, advancing models, advocacy, education, and the promotion of innovation.

    About the World Association of Medical Editors (WAME, http://www.wame.org)

    WAME is a global nonprofit voluntary association of editors of peer-reviewed medical journals who seek to foster cooperation and communication among editors; improve editorial standards; promote professionalism in medical editing through education, self-criticism, and self-regulation; and encourage research on the principles and practice of medical editing. WAME develops policies and recommendations of best practices for medical journal editors and has a syllabus for editors that members are encouraged to follow.